Boyer, Dungan named top senior athletes

By on May 29, 2013

The Cocalico High School Athletic Department recently held its annual Senior Athlete Recognition Social.

Athletes receiving the E. Jerry Brooks Academic/Athletic Medal included: Kristen Boyer, Megan Glover, Rebecca Grube, Kara Hess, Janelle High, Shannon Hoeveler, Thomas Koller, Zachary Weinhold, and David Wenger. The Fackler/Hower Sportsmanship Medals were awarded to Brittney Ryan & Shea Evans.

Head coaches presented the Most Valuable Player plaques to the following athletes: Amanda Drexel- Girls Cross Country; Harry Major- Boys Cross Country; Zachary Rissler – Football; Alison Witmer- Girls Tennis; Oliver Denlinger- Boys Basketball; Halle High-Benson- Cheerleading; Collin Glassey- Baseball; Paige Beiler- Softball; Shea Evans-Boys Track; Ashley Strenko- Girls Track; Alex Genova- Boys Volleyball; Harry Major- Boys Swimming; Olivia Evans- Girls Swimming; Delaina Riggle- Bowling; Carissa Witmer – Field Hockey; Wyatt Dungan- Boys Soccer; Kristen Boyer – Girls Volleyball; Kristen Boyer- Girls Basketball; Kathleen Lawver- Girls Soccer; Zach Weinhold- Boys Tennis; Nathan Sauder- Golf; Julia Stauffer- Girls Lacrosse; and Daniel Bucolo- Boys Lacrosse.

Various Booster Clubs and Community Organizations presented $10,250 in athletic scholarships to the following athletes: Cocalico Youth Baseball Organization- Collin Glassey; Boy’s Basketball- Oliver Denlinger; Girls Basketball- Rebecca Grube; Cocalico Midget Football- Zach Rissler and Samantha Vulopas; Connie Sola Spirit Award- Samantha Vulopas, Halle High-Benson, Erin Ruth; Field Hockey- Janelle High; Football- Zach Rissler, Brock Gosling, Logan High; Cocalico Youth Soccer- Jennifer Newman, Taylor Esterly, Zach Weinhold, Lucas DiCiano; Girls Soccer- Alyssa Gantert, Sarah Harbst, Jennifer Newman, Kathleen Lawver, Taylor Esterly, Shannon Hoeveler, Brittney Ryan, Olivia Fryberger; Boys Soccer- Austin Krick, Alec Sensenig, Wyatt Dungan; Softball- Paige Beiler, Sarah Shreiner; CocalicoYouth Softball Organization- Holly Renninger; Swimming- Brittney Ryan, Anja Ferry; Girls Volleyball- Kristen Boyer, Chantel Shuman; Boys Volleyball- Michael Carty, Wesley Rathman, Alex Genova; Girls Lacrosse- Julia Stauffer ; Girls Youth Lacrosse- Julia Stauffer. The 2013 Outstanding Female Athlete was, Kristen Boyer while the 2013 Outstanding Male Athlete was Wyatt Dungan.

Kristen Boyer was the Cocalico nomination for the Lancaster-Lebanon League A. Landis Brackbill Award.

More ATHLETES, page A11

About Ephrata Review