Woman’s Club of Denver celebrates 60 years

By on July 18, 2012

Woman's Club of Denver charter members (left to right, standing) Beatrice Ebersole, Ann Kurtz and Hilda Garrett and Irene Gehman (seated) enjoyed the group's recent 60th anniversary celebration and final 2011-12 meeting. Not pictured are Mae Wingenroth, Ruth Potteiger and Alice Schannauer.

The Woman’s Club of Denver celebrated its 60th anniversary and held its final meeting of the 2011-12 club year recently at the Weaver Markets banquet facility.

Shirley Sweigart and Sally Wealand acted as hostesses. Anna Rose Schannauer gave the devotions. President Jane Webber welcomed club members and guests and introduced the charter members who were in attendance: Beatrice Ebersole, Hilda Garrett, Irene Gehman and Ann Kurtz. Ruth Potteiger, Alice Schannauer and Mae Wingenroth are also charter members but were unable to attend the meeting.

Entertainment was provided by Dean Sensenig, who performed Broadway musical selections. Sensenig, who is a baritone, has been featured regularly as a church and concert soloist in the Lancaster, Reading and Philadelphia areas. He is a native of Ephrata and received his formal vocal training at the Temple University College of Music.

Yvonne Weaver, Education Committee chairman, announced that scholarships were awarded to the following seniors who attended Cocalico High School: Jane Volynets received a $1,500 scholarship and will be attending Colorado State University majoring in political science. Emily Zimmerman received a $1,000 scholarship and will be attending Syracuse University majoring in sports management. Joshua Lorah received a $750 scholarship and will be attending the University of Pittsburgh majoring in the medical field. Sarah Mohler received a $750 scholarship and will be attending Eastern University majoring in English education.

Nedra Bearinger, club treasurer and coordinator of the Club’s Card Flights, announced the winners of the Card Flights as follows: Pinochle — first place, Linda Foster and Mae Rodenbush; second place, Jane Lesher and Jane Webber; and Hasenpfeffer — first place, Loretta Fausnacht and Hilda Miller; and second place, Josephine Predmore and Hilda Garrett.

Installation of the club officers for 2012/13 was held. The officers are as follows: Doris Rauch, president; Mindi Stoner, vice-president; Sandra Martin, recording secretary; RoxAnn Klein, corresponding secretary; and Nedra Bearinger, treasurer.

President Doris Rauch announced her theme as Fellowship and Friendship.

About Ephrata Review