Bartholomew Tourney attracts 44 boys and girls teams

By on June 13, 2012

The 2012 Tim Bartholomew Memorial Basketball Shootout was held May 18 and 19 at Ephrata High School, Ephrata Middle School and the Ephrata Recreation Center.

This year’s tournament featured 44 boys and girls varsity basketball teams competing from the local L-L League as well as leagues such as the Mid-Penn, Berks, York-Adams, Ches-Mont and Philadelphia area.

This basketball tournament, in its fifth year, is played in honor of long time official Tim Bartholomew, who passed away in 2008. The tournament is the source of the funding for the L-L League Basketball Officials Scholar Athlete Award.

The Officials Scholar-Athlete Award is a $1,000 cash award presented annually to deserving young men and women who are graduating and plan on continuing their education.

These players, who need only to be an active participant on an L-L League varsity basketball team, qualify for this award by attaining a minimum of a 3.0 GPA, while exhibiting good conduct and sportsmanship on and off the court.

Players are nominated by their coach and proceed through a selection process (including a short essay), with the eventual award winners chosen by the committee.

This year’s four $1,000 winners were: Megan Schlegelmilch (Penn Manor); Kathryn Fuhrman (ELCO); Jonathan Donley (Cedar Crest); and Ben Leibig (Lebanon).

Currently, there are plans underway to hold a pre-season Tim Bartholomew Shootout this coming Fall. This one-day basketball tournament would once again feature varsity competition from across southern PA and all proceeds would go toward the L-L League Officials Scholar-Athlete Award.

About Ephrata Review