Everyday heroes

By on January 29, 2014

As School Board Appreciation Month wraps up, members are recognized for their dedication

January was School Board Appreciation Month and what a better way to end a month of thanks than with sock monkeys.

At Monday’s Cocalico school board meeting, Kimberlee Barlow’s family and consumer science class honored the school board with a special project. Along with the help of classroom aide, Nancy Sensenig, the students made blue and white Cocalico sock monkeys for each member.

This year’s theme for appreciation month was everyday heroes. Throughout the month, members were recognized by both students and staff for their dedication and time with Cocalico School District.

“I am pleased to recognize the members,” said superintendent Bruce Sensenig. “They volunteer time, talent and expertise to the betterment of the education in this community. We have real heroes gathered here tonight.”

Prior to the meeting, the board had dinner in the cafeteria while the middle school musical performers gave a preview of the some songs from the musical, “Once Upon a Mattress.” The district also gave members a certificate of appreciation and a few small gifts.

When the meeting was in session, the board was asked to vote on the CTC budget for the 2014-15 school year during Monday’s meeting.

“The 2014-15 budget represents an increase of 2.1 percent over the current budget of this year,” explained secretary Sherri Stull. Sensenig also explained that the CTC uses the state index as their maximum since that is the maximum increase for many districts.

“Every year, CTC strives to meet its goal of quality cost-effective educational program for all member district students,” added Stull of the need for an increased budget.

Before ballots were passed out, Michael Messner spoke of his experience of the CTC and the importance of funding.

“The CTC program is an excellent program,” said Messner. “I myself am a graduate of Brownstown Vo-Tech so I know what it meant in my life to go there and learn the skills I needed.”

During the superintendent’s report, Dr. Ella Musser recognized elementary guidance counselors Elise Clicquennoi of Adamstown, Amy Hess of Denver and Carrie Rupp of Reamstown who volunteered to help with student behaviors at school and on buses.

The counselors use four words in all of the buildings to teach students: respectful, responsible, safe and kind. And each building has their own spin on how to reward students who follow those words. Reamstown uses an MVT or Most Valuable Teammate club. Tickets are given out for students who follow the motto and are given positive praise, prizes and rewards. Adamstown practices Sean Covey’s “7 Habits of Happy Kids” and recognizes students who are working on goals and habits. Postcards are sent home to parents and the newspaper prints photos of the students who received acknowledgment for the month (pictured to the right).

Denver Elementary uses a superhero theme and students are given tickets for practicing the four goals.

“It’s really important that it’s integrated in all settings,” said Hess. The guidance counselors also talked to bus drivers about success, had training sessions with the drivers, and have signs in the buses.

Other agenda items and approvals included:

• Minutes of school board meetings held Dec. 16 and Jan. 13

• Treasurer’s Report

• Investment made for the General Fund

• Invoices in the amount of $1,358,290.85

• Capital Project Fund Account Register in the amount of $4,485.71

• Delinquent taxes relating to the Lancaster County Tax Claim Bureau

• Approval of Real Estate exonerations

• Transportation contract for the 2013-14 school year

• Adoption of policy manual updates and changes

• 2014-15 school calendar

• Resignation for the purpose of retirement of Lynn Breidenstein, middle school teacher, effective the end of the school year

• Child rearing leave for Katherine Steckbeck, Adamstown Elementary teacher

• The following long-term substitute teachers: Katherine Jones, middle school communication arts; Thomas Paulson, middle school math; Krista Weaver, high school math; and Kara Innerst, high school math

• Supplemental contracts for teacher mentors: Ron Derr, Kristine Butz, Matt Fittery, and Lynn Detterline

About ephratareview

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *