Akron welcomes new members

By on January 8, 2014

The Akron Borough Council welcomed two new members at its reorganization meeting Monday.

Mayor John McBeth swore in newly elected council members Earl Shirk and Dan McCormac, as well as returning members Thomas Murray, Perry Lorah and Justin Gehman.

The council voted to retain its leadership with Murray as president and appointed Lorah as vice president. Lorah replaces Terry Reber, who did not seek re-election. Robert Ober will serve as treasurer, with Troy Reber serving on the vacancy board.

Shirk was appointed chairman protem of the council, meaning he will moderate meetings if both the president and vice president are unable to lead.

Borough Manager Dan Guers was reappointed as zoning, permit and enforcement officer with Susan Davidson as his assistant. Davidson will also retain her roles as borough secretary, garage sale permit officer and deputy tax collector.

The borough will also retain solicitors Shirk & Mejia and Stevens & Lee. Arro Consultants and Hanover Engineering Associates will continue to provide engineering services.

The council also made the following appointments:

  • Thomas Zell will remain police chief.
  • Code Administrators Inc. as building code officials.
  • Thomas Bender to a three-year term on the zoning hearing board; Kay McEllhenney was appointed as an alternate.
  • Joseph Mikos will serve as an alternate on the civil service commission.
  • Weinhold, Nickel & Co. as auditor.
  • Brian Boyer and Jim Martin to four-year terms on the planning commission with Robert Rollman appointed to serve as an alternate.

The council also approved a $1 million treasurer’s bond, set reimbursement rates for borough employees and approved holidays for non-uniform employees.

About ephratareview

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *