Primary election set for Tuesday

By on May 13, 2015

BallotThere’s not many competitive ballots featured in the 2015 primary election on Tuesday, which include races for Ephrata School Board and Denver and Akron borough councils.

In the election for Ephrata School Board, six candidates — four incumbents —will vie for five seats. Five are registered Republicans, while Suzanne M. Delahunt, director of music at Grace United Church of Christ has cross-filed on both the GOP and Democrat ballots. Delahunt and Neal D. Reichard, director of services at Ephrata Manor are not currently on the school board.

The four incumbent candidates are: Judy Beiler, pastor of The Worship Center; Tim Stauffer, teacher at Manheim Christian Day School; Chris Weber, pastor of Ephrata community Church; and Theodore Kachel, employed at Garden of Eden Produce.

In Denver, four candidates are seeking only three seats. All candidates are filed on the GOP ballot, which includes: Incumbents Michael W. Cohick, retired, and Blake S. Daub, vice president of support services at Luthercare. New candidates are John P. Palm, safety manager at Martin Limestone;   Stewart, attorney with the Harrisburg-based law firm of Hawke, McKeon and Snisnak.

In Akron, five candidates are seeking the Republican nomination for three seats. They are: incumbents Daniel McCormac, a sales associate with HomeSale Mortgage; H. Jeffrey Shirk, a manufacturing consultant for Total Outsource Solutions; John D. Taylor, power fleet sales manager for Penray. New candidates include John Williamson, self-employed consultant; and Philip Benigno, business development executive for the Lancaster Barnstormers:

Other uncontested elections include Ephrata Borough Council Republicans:

Dale L. Hertzog (First Ward), Melvin Weiler (Second Ward), and Linda Martin (Fourth Ward).

The GOP ballot for Adamstown Borough Council includes Alexander McManimen, Jessica L. Kelly, and Mike Wetherhold.

The Cocalico School Board candidates are Republicans Randall Renninger, Desiree Wagner, Allen Dissinger, Kevin Eshleman, and Juanita Fox.

On the East Cocalico supervisor ballot is Republican incumbent Alan Fry; the West Cocalico supervisor ballot features Republican Raymond H. Burns; and Republican Nancy G. Hamill is the only name on the ballot for Magisterial District Judge 02-3-07

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *